A Bowl of Chicken Soup or Whatever

Today I am going to Lansing to make chicken and dumplings for my son. He is sick with a miserable cold. I have vacation this week, so I have the time. While there, I plan to clean his apartment, make pancakes, and let him rest as much as he can. He is working from home, so I’ll stay out of his way, while he is working.

While there, I hope to take my youngest daughter over to the history department at MSU to have a look around.

I am mothering them both, even into their young adulthood, as my mother did for me.

When I was in college at MSU, Mom would stop by to give me part of the vegetables and fruit that she just happened to have bought at the Ionia Farmer’s Market on her way to Lansing to see me. “Oh” she would say, “50 pounds of potatoes is a lot for us. Can I leave 10 pounds here? Here, take three pounds of carrots; I don’t need ten pounds. Could you use some onions? How about some of these pears. We can’t eat all of them before they spoil. Share some with your neighbors.”  She could have bought these items on the way home, but she never did.

One summer I stayed at school to take Intensive Spanish. The last three weeks of the course, I became ill. I would wake up at 8:00 am, go to my three hour class, then go home, go back to my dorm room, and sleep from 1:00 p.m. until 8:00 a.m., without waking during the night. It was exhausted sleep. My parents brought me home for the three week period between summer quarter and fall quarter. My mother took me to the doctors, but nothing was ever found. I didn’t feel much like eating, but my mother would bring mashed potatoes and soup up to my room for me to eat, every day.

So, I am  repeating that cycle. I just put some medicine in the travel case for my son. I will be going to the store shortly to pick up the ingredients for Chicken and Dumplings, and whatever else I feel like. I am sure he could use some orange juice, and some potatoes.

Thanks Mom.

3 thoughts on “A Bowl of Chicken Soup or Whatever

  1. He said the Chicken & Dumplings tasted delicious, even though the dumplings didn’t turn out (in my opinion). It’s important to use Jiffy Mix (or make your own dumpling recipe. In some biscuit mixes, the flour is too fine.

  2. I love it, in my 50s my mom still babies me. I appreciate that. My kids are still at home, but knowing my wife, we will be doing the same. It is nice to show love that way. Nothing better than getting spoiled.

    • We are mothers and fathers for life, if done right, I think. When my son moved away a little over a year ago, my husband/his father took several trips over to his apartment to help him put furniture together, and to badger him a little about buying a new bed. (He slept on an air mattress for the first few months). His father also taught him to cook his best dishes.

      “Making the decision to have a child – it is momentous. It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body. ”
      ― Elizabeth Stone

Your Thoughts are important

