Nevertheless – with God’s Help

It is no accident that one of the great passages about God’s grace is followed immediately by God’s purpose for us.

“8 For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast.”(Ephesians 2, verses 8 and 9, The Bible)

We are are saved utterly and completely by grace, by the mercy of God.

“For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him.” (John 3:17, the Bible)

Nevertheless, our faith should result in good works.

“10 For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” (Ephesians 2:10, the Bible)

In my last post, I stated that instead of writing about the roots of cynicism, I should begin to replace cynical thoughts with thoughts and actions regarding mercy, love, and kindness. I cannot do it by myself, but with help from my God who gives me strength.  This poem, often attributed to Francis of Assisi, is a good prayer to start with.

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace,
Where there is hatred, let me sow love;
Where there is injury, pardon;
Where there is doubt, faith;
Where there is despair, hope;
Where there is darkness, light;
Where there is sadness, joy.
O Divine Master,
grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled, as to console;
to be understood, as to understand;
to be loved, as to love.
For it is in giving that we receive.
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned,
and it is in dying that we are born to Eternal Life.
St. Francis of Assisi
Oh Father, transform me into an instrument of your peace. Let me sow love, pardon, faith, hope, light, joy.
2 thoughts on “Nevertheless – with God’s Help

Your Thoughts are important

