20 Ways to Sow

About that sowing part…

Over the next few weeks, I am going to post ideas for sowing mercy, faith, love, grace, kindness.

  1. Open your eyes to appreciate the good qualities of other people. Compliment them. Be sure to tell others, as well.
  2. Teach someone to play cribbage, then find opportunities to keep playing cribbage.
  3. Bring your friend, brother, sister, stranger to the Lord in prayer in during your private worship.
  4. Pray with your friend, brother, sister, stranger at their time of need in their presence.
  5. Share what you know, whether that is gardening, cooking, sewing, painting, writing, etc., with others.
  6. Give a gift to encourage someone.
  7. Make a meal and take it to someone’s house
  8. Listen to children recite verses from the Bible
  9. Buy lemonade from a lemonade stand
  10. Buy dinner at a spaghetti fund raiser, instead of going out to eat.
  11. Invite another family over for ice cream
  12. Take part in food drives. Make sure what you give away is not expired. Give what you like to eat, not just what you bought by mistake (although that can be good, too).
  13. Give money to the homeless shelters in your city
  14. Tell a kind joke to the sales clerk or fast food worker
  15. Invite someone to your………. established quilting group, writing group, scrapbooking group, euchre tournament. The world is a lonely place.
  16. Establish a quilting guild, birdwatching club, writers group, bowling club, book discussion, Bible study, potluck club, etc. Invite others of like interests.
  17. Recommend someone for a job
  18. Recommend someone for a promotion
  19. Speak highly of your mother-in-law
  20. Defend the helpless

Cup-Cold-Water

There is a lot in the Bible about actually doing something.

34 “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. 35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’ Matthew 25:34-40 (NIV)

5 thoughts on “20 Ways to Sow

  1. I list some of these things because the opposite is my weakness. But my desire is to spend more time and effort sowing into the lives of others, and less time criticizing, doubting, and practicing cynicism.

  2. Hi Cindy. I only have two blog “follows” that are directed straight into my email inbox. Yours is one of them, so I thought I would let you know how much you bless me with your posts. You are always an encouragement and I always look forward to hearing from you. Just wanted to let you know… God bless you Big-Time. 🙂

Your Thoughts are important

