Setting Traps

When I was first married I decided that I wasn’t going to set a trap for my husband by using his ability to remember my birthday, anniversary, etc., as evidence of his love for me. For the most part, I have avoided this by making sure that he knows when these events are coming up. We then plan how to celebrate together. I also keep track of his birthday.

However, I did set a trap for him in retrospect for our 24th wedding anniversary. 2009 was a very hectic time for us. Our anniversary is in June, and along with preparing for our daughter’s graduation open house, we also attended several other open houses and weddings.

In July, I realized that my husband had forgotten our anniversary and I was very upset about it. How could he do that???? Didn’t he love me?

Then it hit me….I had forgotten, too.

We also forgot to get the cat fixed in time, and we have two additional cats to show for it.

We set traps when we decide in advance how we are going to be offended. Do a quick search of the internet using the words “Things to Never Say.”

  1. 10 Things to never say to a woman
  2. 5 Things to never say to parents of children with disabilities
  3. 23 Things you should never say to a childfree woman
  4. 8 Things to never say to a dog owner

Etc., etc., etc.

Wouldn’t it be better to decide in advance to forgive others?

index

32 Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.” Ephesians 4:32, the Bible.

7 thoughts on “Setting Traps

  1. Loved this Cindy! “We set traps when we decide in advance how we are going to be offended.” How absolutely right you are. It amazes me how often we do this, most of the time without really thinking about it. Blessings to you as you continue to share your heart.

    ~Victoria

Your Thoughts are important

