A Journey Away From Cynicism

I was discouraged and disheartened after the election of President Obama in 2012. Not primarily because he was reelected; I did vote for Mitt Romney with reluctance.

But I was weighed down by the prolonged, cynical effort to throw Obama out of office. There are legitimate reasons to oppose his policies and actions as president. Among his many real failures and offenses as president are his handling of Bengazi, the overreach of the NSA, his attempt to get into newsrooms around the country in the guise of a “Study,” his botched launch of the Affordable Care Act. However, many like to roll in the mud of innuendo and lies, with several shots of vitriol to spice it up.

The other side is equally as cynical. During the fall of 2013, I picked up a magazine published by the Union at Meijer Stores. It was filled with scathing lies and vitriol regarding the Republicans. Just as cynical.

A review of the definition of cynicism may be of benefit: http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/cynical

a :  contemptuously distrustful of human nature and motives <those cynical men who say that democracy cannot be honest and efficient — F. D. Roosevelt>

b :  based on or reflecting a belief that human conduct is motivated primarily by self-interest <a cynical ploy to win votes>

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was weary, soul sick. Dragged down by the constant drum beat of lies, innuendo, and manufactured political rage. So I decided to turn away from it, to make a concerted effort to reduce the habit of cynicism in my own life.

Word Press let me know that December 30, 2012, was my one year anniversary since starting this blog. Have I succeeded in my efforts?

I asked my husband if he thought I was less cynical. His quick answer was “no.” He is the one person on earth who knows me best. Discouraging, a bit.

And yet….

On a daily basis, I am responsible to choose what fills my mind.  Frankly, I don’t want to spend my time on this earth enslaved by the corruption of bitterness, cynicism, slander, rage, and malice. Walking in the spirit of darkness is poison to the soul and the body. It is death.

I choose life.

8 “Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things.” Philippians 4:8 (The Bible, New International Version)

God does not expect us to be perfect, to have arrived. He does expect us to keep at it, however. So if I keep making the choice to turn away from cynicism and increase the qualities God desires in my life, it will keep me from being ineffective and unproductive.

I choose to keep going, to keep sowing.

3 “His divine power has given us everything we need for a godly life through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness. Through these he has given us his very great and precious promises, so that through them you may participate in the divine nature, having escaped the corruption in the world caused by evil desires.

For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; and to godliness, mutual affection; and to mutual affection, love. For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. But whoever does not have them is nearsighted and blind, forgetting that they have been cleansed from their past sins.” (II Peter 1:3-9)

0525122024

Don’t give up. Never give up.

 

4 thoughts on “A Journey Away From Cynicism

Your Thoughts are important

